Uncategorized

An update, a request for help and an offer for you

Photo credit: Pixabay
Photo credit: Pixabay

Hey all,

There have been a few changes in my life lately. Some good, some not so good.

Some of you may know that my laptop is dying and is pretty near unusable. It’s been playing up since the end of last year, and for the last month I’ve hardly opened it because it won’t work.

I’ve been posting occasionally when I get the chance from the computer at work but I’m unable to do much writing/blogging and haven’t been able to work on my latest book project.

Added to this, I moved house in the last month. Over the summer holidays I had a chance to reassess a few things and I realised I needed to move back home for my health. Anxiety has flared up again and I’ve reached a state where I’m in constant panic mode.

My chest feels tight, my heart races, and I always feel on edge. My psychologist introduced me to the anxiety cycle and I’m at a point where everything seems like a threat and my body is reacting without my control. She says I need to find a way to relax.

In the last week I’ve started taking medication to help me while it’s all a bit too much. We’ll see how that goes. And I decided it was better for me to go back home where I was in a safe, familiar environment where I could rest and feel comfortable. So I said good-bye to my housemate, packed up my room, and now feel so much more peace at my dad’s house.

I had to buy some furniture. A bed, desk, chair. And now that my room is set up, it’s time to buy a laptop and get stuck into writing again. Basically, I’ve dedicated this half of the year to writing this book. I submit it on the 30th June, but I obviously can’t write it unless I have a laptop.

Since I’ve depleted my savings by buying furniture, I was wondering if anyone would like to donate money towards a Laptop Fund.

I have no idea if I’ll get donations, but doesn’t hurt to ask, I suppose. I’m not in desperate need or anything, but any amount of money at this stage would help me out a lot and it would be great to see who believes in me enough to keep me writing. You’re my biggest fans and you’re so appreciated.

For anyone who donates $5 or more, I can offer any or all of the following rewards:

  • I will promote your blog on my blog – e.g. Interview you, reblog one of your posts, send a shout out to you with a link to your blog
  • You can guest post on my blog on a mutually agreed topic
  • I will guest post for your blog on a mutually agreed topic

For anyone who donates $10 or more, you will have the same options as above plus I’ll send you a pdf copy of any one of the three books I’ve edited: Fall in Love with Writing, To and From: Mother, Please Tell Someone.

For anyone who donates $20 or more, you will have the same options as above plus I will send you a letter and three of my bookmarks with my drawings. See my bookmarks here.

For anyone who donates $50 or more, you will have the same options as above plus I will send you an A3 print of one my drawings of your choice. See my drawings here.

To donate, send money via Paypal to wordslikesilk@gmail.com. Please leave a message or email me so we can chat about your rewards. (Aussies can donate via direct deposit if that suits better, contact me for details.)

Thanks everyone. I’ll post a photo of my laptop when I get it and mention you in the thankyous of the book I’m working on.

How is everyone going? What writing/creative projects are you up to this year? How can people support you?

2 thoughts on “An update, a request for help and an offer for you

Leave a Reply

